• PY_with_logo

    See the collection of talks by ACLS President Pauline Yu. 

  • 2018-board

    The ACLS Board of Directors at the 2018 annual meeting.  William Kirby, board chair, is at Pauline's right. See board and committees.

  • 2018-PY-ELewis

    Pauline in conversation with Earl Lewis, then president of The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.  See the video series.

2007 ACLS Annual Meeting


The 2007 Annual Meeting of the American Council of Learned Societies took place at the Marriott Montreal Chateau Champlain in Montreal on May 10-12, 2007. This was the first ACLS Annual Meeting to be held outside the United States and many Canadian scholars were in attendance. Participants included Noreen Golfman, president of the Canadian Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences, and Chad Gaffield, president of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada. 

The ACLS Board of Directors met in the afternoon on May 10. Other events that day:

  • An open session on the Humanities Indicators Project of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. John Hammer, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, served as the moderator; speakers included Norman Bradburn, former provost of the University of Chicago and codirector of the Humanities Indicators Project; Roger L. Geiger, Distinguished Professor of Education, Pennsylvania State University; Rosemary G. Feal, Executive Director of the Modern Language Association; and Arnita Jones, Executive Director of the American Historical Association.
  • A report, "The New Congress and the NEH: A Briefing on Policy and Legislation," by Jessica Jones Irons, Executive Director of the National Humanities Alliance.
  • A report on the National Humanities Alliance (NHA) Task Force on Open Access and Scholarly Communication, which included an introduction and a statement on the Mission of NHA Task Force by Task Force Chair William Davis (Executive Director, American Anthropological Association) and comments on Federal Regulatory and Legislative Initiatives Mandating Open Access by Peter Givler, Executive Director, American Association of University Presses, followed by a discussion of alternative publishing models for the humanities and social sciences.
  • An ACLS new-member reception, supper, and entertainment hosted by Tourisme Montreal and the Marriott Montréal Château Champlain.

The Council met on Friday morning, May 11. In her report to the Council, President Yu emphasized how the policy currents surrounding the American academy are being shaped by reactions to the global economy and said that there is no better preparation for an ever-changing workplace than a genuinely liberal education. At the meeting of the Council, in addition to board elections and approval of the 2007-08 budget, the North American Conference on British Studies was admitted as the 69th constituent member society of the ACLS.

ACLS Board of Directors Elections

  • John R. Clarke, Ancient Art and Architecture, University of Texas, Austin, was reelected for a second three-year term as vice chair.
  • James J. O'Donnell, Classics, Provost, Georgetown University, was elected secretary, to complete a term ending in 2008.
  • Frederick M. Bohen, Finance and Administration, Rockefeller University (emeritus), was reelected to a four-year term as a member.
  • Marjorie Garber, English, Harvard University, was reelected to a four-year term as a member.

In the delegates meeting that morning, ACLS Program Officer Ann Gaylin reported on collaborative research in the humanities.

The morning concluded with the session "Emerging Themes and Methods of Humanities Research: A Discussion with ACLS Fellows." Fellows speaking were Daniel J. Cohen, Digital Innovation Fellowship, 2006-07, assistant professor of history, George Mason University; Amy Borovoy, Charles A. Ryskamp Research Fellowship, 2006-07, assistant professor in East Asian studies, Princeton University; Srinivas Aravamudan, ACLS Fellowship, 2006-07, professor of English and director, John Hope Franklin Humanities Institute, Duke University.  The moderator was Marjorie Garber, ACLS Fellowship, 1989-90, 1977-78; William R. Kenan, Jr., Professor of English and American Literature and Language and of Visual and Environmental Studies, Harvard University; member; ACLS Board of Directors.

Before the luncheon talk by Bruce Cole, chairman of the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) on May 11, Annual Meeting attendees were welcomed to Canada by Noreen Golfman, president of Canadian Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences and associate dean of Graduate Studies, and by professor of English language and literature, Memorial University of Newfoundland.

The final program session was "The Global Academy and the Geography of Ideas."& Panelists were Kwame Anthony Appiah, Laurance S. Rockefeller University Professor of Philosophy, Princeton University, and chair, ACLS Board of Directors; Paulin J. Hountondji, professor of philosophy, National University of Benin; Gail Kligman, professor of sociology and director, Center for European and Eurasian Studies, University of California, Los Angeles; and Kenneth Prewitt, Carnegie Professor of Public Affairs, School of International and Public Affairs, Columbia University, and president emeritus, Social Science Research Council. The panelists took questions from the floor after their presentations.

Linda Nochlin, Lila Acheson Wallace Professor of Modern Art, Institute of Fine Arts, New York University delivered the 2007 Charles Homer Haskins Prize Lecture. Nochlin's lecture was published in the ACLS Occasional Paper series.

Tourisme Montreal (the Greater Montreal Convention and Tourism Bureau) helped support the ACLS Annual Meeting and the Conference of Administrative Officers (CAO) Meeting that followed.

  • 2007 Haskins Lecturer Linda Nochlin with Pauline Yu

  • The leadership of American and Canadian humanities and social sciences organizations

  • Roger Geiger, Rosemary G. Feal, Norman Bradburn, Arnita Jones, and John Hammer

  • Charlotte Kuh and Herb Mann reported on ACLS's finances.

  • Pauline Yu delivered the President's Report to the Council.

  • ACLS Fellows Daniel J. Cohen, Marjorie Garber, Amy Borovoy, and Srinivas Aravamudan

  • NEH Chairman Bruce Cole

  • An open discussion on collaborative research led by Ann Gaylin (bottom middle)

  • ACLS Board Chair Kwame Anthony Appiah, Gail Kligman, Paulin J. Hountondji, and Kenneth Prewitt

  • At the NHA's "Advocacy and Support for the Humanities: A View from Canada"