• AM2018-Mattie

    Mattie Burkert, a Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellow, presented her research at the 2018 ACLS Annual Meeting.

  • AHPMeritKagugo

    African Humanities Program Fellow Merit Kabugo studies the discourse of rural farmers. 

  • Bookcase_new

    Search ACLS fellows' publications online. 


ACLS Fellows among 2014 Class of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences


The American Academy of Arts and Sciences recently announced its 2014 class of new members. Founded in 1780, the Academy is one of the nation's oldest learned societies and a founding member of ACLS. Its members include top scholars and practitioners of the arts, humanities, social and physical sciences, as well as leaders of the civic and philanthropic communities. ACLS extends special congratulations to our fellows among this year's inductees:

J. David Velleman F'85 (New York University)

Edward Wallace Muir, Jr. F'77 (Northwestern University)
Susan Naquin F'75,'09 (Princeton University)
Londa Schiebinger G'89 (Stanford University

Literary Criticism (including Philology)
James Chandler G'79 (University of Chicago)
Margaret Ferguson F'11 (University of California, Davis)
Sheldon Pollock F'01 (Columbia University)

Visual Arts - Criticism and Practice
Walter Cahn G '75,'85 (Yale University)

Performing Arts - Criticism and Practice
Karol Berger F'92,'03 (Stanford University)

The Academy also inducted ACLS board member Elaine Sisman, the Anne Collins Bender Professor of Music at Columbia University, who serves as chair of ACLS's Executive Committee of the Delegates.

A complete list of this year's inductees can be found at https://www.amacad.org/multimedia/pdfs/classlist2014.pdf.

Read More ➤