• AM2018-Mattie

    Mattie Burkert, a Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellow, presented her research at the 2018 ACLS Annual Meeting.

  • AHPMeritKagugo

    African Humanities Program Fellow Merit Kabugo studies the discourse of rural farmers. 

  • Bookcase_new

    Search ACLS fellows' publications online. 


Seventh Summit of National Fellowship-Granting Organizations



Front row: Josephine Faass, Jean Strouse, Margaret Plympton, Margaret Levi; back row: Matthew Goldfeder, Nisha Mongia, Mariët Westermann, Robert Newman, Steve Wheatley, Keith Thomson

The heads of nine national fellowship-granting organizations in the humanities met at ACLS on December 3, 2015, to discuss how best to support research scholars.

American Philosophical Society
Keith Thomson, Executive Director

The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
Mariët Westermann, Vice President of Higher Education and Scholarship in the Humanities and of Arts and Cultural Heritage

Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences
Margaret Levi, Director

The Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers, New York Public Library
Jean Strouse, Director

Institute for Advanced Study
Josephine Faass, Academic Officer

National Endowment for the Humanities
Margaret Plympton, Deputy Chair

National Humanities Center
Robert Newman, President and Director

Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study
Nisha Mongia, Executive Dean

American Council of Learned Societies
Steven Wheatley, Vice President
Matthew Goldfeder, Director of Fellowship Programs

Read More ➤