• AM2018-Mattie

    Mattie Burkert, a Mellon/ACLS Dissertation Completion Fellow, presented her research at the 2018 ACLS Annual Meeting.

  • AHPMeritKagugo

    African Humanities Program Fellow Merit Kabugo studies the discourse of rural farmers. 

  • Bookcase_new

    Search ACLS fellows' publications online. 


Lynn Hunt Named 2019 Charles Homer Haskins Prize Lecturer 

Hunt is Distinguished Research Professor at the University of California, Los Angeles.

Sally Falk Moore Named 2018 Charles Homer Haskins Prize Lecturer 

Moore is a legal anthropologist and professor emerita at Harvard University,

ACLS Welcomes the Austrian Studies Association (ASA) to Constituent Membership 

The ASA was admitted by vote of the Council at the ACLS 2017 Annual Meeting.

ACLS Mourns the Loss of Joyce Appleby 

A distinguished historian of the United States, Professor Appleby delivered the 2012 Haskins Prize Lecture on "A Life of Learning."

Watch: Ford Foundation President Darren Walker In Conversation with Pauline Yu 

Walker talks about the importance of asking "what drives persistent inequality,"

Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Publishing Admitted to ACLS 

SHARP was founded in 1993 to create a global network for book historians working in a broad range of scholarly disciplines.

Harry G. Frankfurt Named 2017 Haskins Prize Lecturer 

Professor Frankfurt, professor emeritus of philosophy at Princeton University, will deliver the lecture on May 12, during the 2017 ACLS Annual Meeting in Baltimore, MD.

Video of 2015 Haskins Prize Lecture Released 

Speaking at the 2015 ACLS Annual Meeting, Wendy Doniger talks life, heresy in Hinduism, and attempts to suppress scholarship.

Shakespeare Association of America Joins ACLS 

The SAA was admitted to the Council at the 2015 ACLS Annual Meeting.

Cynthia Enloe Named 2016 Haskins Prize Lecturer 

The series, entitled "A Life of Learning," celebrates scholarly careers of distinctive importance.

ACLS Increases Award Amounts for 2014-15 Central Fellowship Competition 

The program will add five new fellowships for associate professors and raise the maximum stipend level to $70,000.

Oral History Association Joins ACLS as Member Society 

Established in 1966, the OHA’s mission is to bring together people interested in oral history as a way of collecting and interpreting memories to foster knowledge and dignity

Wendy Doniger Named 2015 Haskins Prize Lecturer 

Professor Doniger will deliver the lecture at the 2015 ACLS Annual Meeting in Philadelphia.

ACLS Announces The Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation Program in Buddhist Studies 

The new initiative, funded by a $1.9 million grant from the Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation, will support research and teaching in Buddhist studies.

ACLS Annual Report for 2011-2012 Released 

The report features a message from President Yu and highlights of the year's activities, along with a complete listing of 2012 fellows and grantees and their research projects.

Bruno Nettl Named 2014 Haskins Prize Lecturer 

ACLS is pleased to announce that Bruno Nettl will deliver the Haskins Prize Lecture at the 2014 ACLS Annual Meeting. 

Joyce Appleby's 2012 Haskins Prize Lecture Published 

ACLS is pleased to announce the publication of the 2012 Charles Homer Haskins Prize Lecture by Joyce Appleby.

ACLS Annual Report for 2010-2011 Published 

The report is available online and in print.

Robert Alter Named 2013 Haskins Prize Lecturer 

ACLS is pleased to anounce that Robert Alter, Class of 1937 Professor of Hebrew and Comparative Literature at the University of California at Berkeley, will deliver the Haskins Prize Lecture at the 2013 ACLS Annual Meeting in Baltimore, MD.

Burkhardt Fellows Celebrate Program's Tenth Anniversary 

During the 2011 ACLS Annual Meeting last May, 44 Burkhardt Fellows gathered to celebrate a milestone for the Frederick Burkhardt Residential Fellowships for Recently Tenured Scholars.

ACLS Welcomes the World History Association 

The World History Association (WHA) was admitted to constituent membership in the American Council of Learned Societies at the 2011 ACLS Annual Meeting.

2009-2010 ACLS Annual Report Published 

The ACLS Annual Report for 2009-2010 has just been released, online and in print. 

Joyce Appleby Named 2012 Haskins Prize Lecturer 

Joyce Appleby, professor emerita of history at the University of California, Los Angeles, will deliver the 30th Charles Homer Haskins Prize Lecture at the 2012 ACLS Annual Meeting in Philadelphia, PA. 

Read More ➤