• Ft Worth

    The 2017 CEO Fall Meeting was held in Fort Worth, TX.

  • 2016AM_AAR

    Jack Fitzmier and David Harrington Watt, representatives of the American Academy of Religion

  • Journals

    ACLS societies foster high-quality, peer-reviewed scholarship in the humanities.

Anaheim, CA, October 3-6

2002 CAO Fall Meeting


The Conference of Administrative Officers (CAO) of ACLS held its semiannual meeting in Anaheim, CA, on October 3-6, 2002.

The meeting schedule is available here.

The meeting opened with the Business Meeting of the CAO, led by Luanne von Schneidemesser, Dictionary Society of North America and chair of the CAO Executive Committee. Other members of the Executive Committee are Adam Blistein, American Philological Association; Arnita Jones, executive director, American Historical Association; Robert J. (Jay) Malone, executive director, History of Science Society; James A. R. Nafziger, American Society of Comparative Law; Kent Harold Richards, Society of Biblical Literature; and Byron Wells, American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies. John Hammer, director of the National Humanities Alliance, provided an update on the state of the humanities in Congress and the forthcoming House and Senate elections.

The next item was a report on the Humanities Indicators Project (sponsored by the American Academy of Arts and Sciences) by members of the ad hoc committee overseeing this project Calvin C. Jones, Statistical and Evaluation Research, Humanities Indicators Project; John Hammer; Arnita Jones; Susan Ball, executive director, College Art Association; and Steven C. Wheatley, vice president, ACLS.

The morning concluded with a session on Annual Meeting planning moderated by Robert J. (Jay) Malone. Other participants were Cynthia Belar, executive director, Education Directorate, American Psychological Association; Robert Judd, executive director, American Musicological Society; and Jane LaBarbera, associate director, Association of American Law Schools.

A session followed, with representatives of the University of California Humanities Research Institute (UCHRI), which is located at the University of California, Irvine. UC Irvine is a university Associate of ACLS, as are a number of other campuses of the University of California, all of which take part in UCHRI, a system-wide institute.

The session, entitled "Between the Disciplines," featured Lisa Lowe, professor of comparative literature, University of California, San Diego; Judith Halberstam, professor of literature and queer studies, University of California, San Diego; Herman Gray, professor of sociology, University of California, Santa Cruz; David Theo Goldberg, director, University of California Humanities Research Institute (moderator); and Dragan Kujundžic, professor of Russian, English, and comparative literature, University of California, Irvine.

The 2001 fall meeting of the CAO, a retreat focused on the future agenda of the CAO, continues to inspire the group’s programming, especially ways in which members find benefits in terms of sharing their experiences and mentoring other members of the group. A session taking advantage of CAO mentoring, entitled "Orienting New Board Members," was presented by Susan Ball and William Davis, executive director, American Anthropological Association. A final session on electronic publishing was led by Kent Richards, executive director, Society of Biblical Literature. The meeting concluded with a demonstration of the ACLS History E-book Project.

The meeting, hosted by the Anaheim/Orange County Visitor and Convention Bureau, included visits to the Richard Nixon Library and Birthplace and the Bowers Museum of Cultural Art. There were also visits to Soarin' over California and other venues in the Disney Resort. The Hilton Anaheim and the Anaheim Marriott were the host hotels. Other events took place at the Anaheim Convention Center and the Hyatt Regency Orange County.

  • The CAO in the California sunshine, Anaheim, October 2002

  • Calvin C. Jones, John Hammer, Arnita Jones, Susan Ball, and Steven C. Wheatley

  • Lisa Lowe, Judith Halberstam, Herman Gray, David Theo Goldberg, and Dragan Kujundzic

  • At the Bowers Museum of Cultural Art

  • At the Bowers

  • At the Bowers

  • At the Bowers

  • At the Bowers

  • Honorary CAO member Mickey Mouse and Tom Weiss