Eighth Summit of National Fellowship-Granting Organizations


Front row: Pauline Yu, Margaret Plympton, Lizabeth Cohen, Jean Strouse, Gail Feigenbaum, Margaret Levi, Eugene M. Tobin. Back row: Rachel Bernard, Matthew Goldfeder, Robert Newman, Steven Wheatley. Not pictured: Josephine Faass.

The heads of eight national fellowship-granting organizations in the humanities met at ACLS on November 20, 2016, to discuss how best to support research scholars. This year's participants were:

The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
Eugene M. Tobin, Senior Program Officer for Higher Education and Scholarship in the Humanities

Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences
Margaret Levi, Director

The Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Center for Scholars and Writers, New York Public Library
Jean Strouse, Director

Institute for Advanced Study
Josephine Faass, Academic Officer

National Endowment for the Humanities
Margaret Plympton, Deputy Chair

National Humanities Center
Robert Newman, President and Director

Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study
Lizabeth Cohen, Dean

American Council of Learned Societies
Pauline Yu, President
Steven Wheatley, Vice President
Rachel Bernard, Program Officer
Matthew Goldfeder, Director of Fellowship Programs